We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

Walk Mill Shed, Cliviger nr. Burnley

Walk Mill Shed, Cliviger nr. Burnley
Walk Mill Shed, Cliviger nr. Burnley
Walk Mill Shed, Cliviger nr. Burnley
Walk Mill Shed, Cliviger nr. Burnley
267541
EBU20150223007
Walk Mill Shed, Cliviger nr. Burnley
Cliviger
The cotton mill at Walk Mill (part of the parish of Cliviger) was built in 1876. It was situated between the river Calder and Burnley Road, near to the Mount Zion chapel. The mill originally housed 736 looms, although this was reduced to 445 in 1948 when a period of modernisation commenced. At this time the main market for the mill's high quality cotton products was the United States. However, this source of income was hit dramatically after the U.S. government imposed a harsh import tax. The mill finally closed in 1958, leaving 200 people out of work. On the 14th of September 1962, the mill chimney was felled, thus bringing to an end the demolition of the mill complex.
Photographic print
Monochrome
9.5 x 13.5
c1890
Enter year in yyyy format
M312: (cliviger) Walk Mill Shed
This item includes these files