We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

Chaffers Siding approach to footbridge

Chaffers Siding approach to footbridge
Chaffers Siding approach to footbridge
Chaffers Siding approach to footbridge
Chaffers Siding approach to footbridge
270565
ENE20150307009
Chaffers Siding, upper approach to footbridge
Nelson
This is where Barkerhouse Road crosses the railway line. The signal box was built in 1876 and demolished in March 1991 at the same time as the footbridge was removed. In 1986 the line between Colne and Nelson was reduced to a single track,so the photograph must date between that date and 1991.
The name Chaffers Siding comes from Benjamin Chaffer (1815-1883) who owned Catlow Quarries. Stone from the quarries was transported by road to Catlow Stone Works (formerly situated just to the right of the signal box) prior to being loaded on trains to be used in buildings in Britain and abroad.
Slide
Colour
Stanley Bracewell Collection Box 15 slide 364
This item includes these files