We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

Farmers Arms, Lancaster

Farmers Arms, Lancaster
Farmers Arms, Lancaster
Farmers Arms, Lancaster
Farmers Arms, Lancaster
285106
NLA20070531002
Farmers Arms, Lancaster
Lancaster
Located at the corner of Aldcliffe Road and Penny Street (this section formerly being King Street).
There are records of a White Cross Inn on or near this site prior to 1820. This was a coaching station in the days prior to the railway and was one of three public houses owned by the Corporation: The Corporation Arms, immediately next door on Penny Street, which also housed the Toll House and the Prince William Henry directly opposite on Penny Street.
All three were demolished and rebuilt at the beginning of the 20th century and, while the White Cross retained its name, the Corporation Arms became the Farmers Arms and the Prince William Henry became the Corporation Arms.
During the 1960s the White Cross and Farmers Arms were converted into a single large public house and hotel under the Farmers Arms name. This closed in 2006 and thereafter the building underwent major refurbishment and reopened in 2007 as the Penny Street Bridge.
In 2015, it was renamed, yet again, as The Toll House Inn as it was in 1901.
Digital Image
Colour
2007
Enter year in yyyy format
This item includes these files