We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

White Cross Hotel, Lancaster

White Cross Hotel, Lancaster
White Cross Hotel, Lancaster
White Cross Hotel, Lancaster
White Cross Hotel, Lancaster
224428
nla05062008001
White Cross Hotel, Penny Street, Lancaster
Lancaster
The junction of Aldcliffe Road and Penny Street. There is record of a White Cross Inn on or near this site prior to 1820. It was a coaching station in the days prior to the railway. Both the first and second ordnance surveys show the corner plot to be empty.
It was one of three public houses owned by the Corporation. The Corporation Arms, immediately next door on Penny Street, which also housed the Toll House and the Prince William Henry directly opposite on Penny Street.
All three were demolished and rebuilt at the beginning of the twentieth century and whilst the White Cross retained its name, the Corporation Arms became the Farmers Arms and the Prince William Henry became The Corporation Arms. During the 1960s the White Cross and Farmers Arms were converted into a single large public house and hotel under the Farmers Arms name. This closed in 2006 and thereafter the building underwent major refurbishment and reopened in 2007 as the Penny Street Bridge. (Sources: Trade Directories and Spalding and Greenalgh)
Postcard
Sepia
13.88 x 8.76
c1902
Enter year in yyyy format
EO2 LAN
This item includes these files