We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Copy Pit, Cliviger nr. Burnley
of 1

Copy Pit, Cliviger nr. Burnley

Image Archive Item
n/a n/a
This item is active and ready to use
Item Details
268883
Copy Pit, Cliviger nr. Burnley
Cliviger
E388437 N427529
Enter Reference in Ennnnnn Nnnnnnn format
19/05/2015
Enter Date in dd/mm/yyyy format
Copy Pit opened 1830's and was rapidly expanded by the Cliviger Coal and Coke Company after the coming of the railway in the 1850's. The company also added coke ovens and a small gantry that ran over the Todmorden turnpike to a loading bay next to the railway tracks.

In order to get to the deeper lying Arley coal seam, two shafts were sunk in 1860 and a new Cornish steam pump was installed to pump the water out. The pits heads, seen here, were arranged in an unusual back-to-back manner, with an engine house in between. Each pit head only had one wheel attached to it. One of the wheels was attached to a cage for the miners and the other was attached to a cage for the coal tubs.

When the coal industry was nationalised in 1947, Copy pit was the only mine formerly owned by the Cliviger Coal and Coke Company with enough reserves left under it to warrant being kept open. It produced 1,000 tons of coal per week, until it was closed in 1963.
Photographic print
Monochrome
14 x 8.5
c1930
Enter Year in yyyy format
M111 (Cliviger): Copy Pit